Commissioner Janea A. Scott: A Queen of Electric Vehicles

The Coalition for Clean Air honored California Energy Commissioner Janea A. Scott today as one of three “Queens of EV” at its 2016 California Clean Air Awards.

Two other women honored for leading the way to a clean car revolution on California’s roads: Christine Kehoe, executive director of the California Plug-In Electric Vehicle Collaborative, and Eileen Tutt, president of the California Electric Transportation Coalition.

Scott is the lead commissioner on transportation and chair of the California Plug-in Electric Vehicle Collaborative, a public/private organization focused on accelerating the adoption of plug-in electric vehicles to meet California’s economic, energy and environmental goals. Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. appointed Scott to the Energy Commission in 2013.

She helps oversee the Energy Commission’s Alternative and Renewable Fuel and Vehicle Technology Program. The program awards up to $100 million annually to leverage private investment to transform California’s vehicle fleet, including battery electric vehicles and hydrogen fuel-cell electric vehicles. The Energy Commission recently awarded $9 million to install DC fast chargers along California’s major north/south corridors such as Interstate 5.

Scott says driving electric vehicles, which are less costly to fuel and maintain than fossil-fueled vehicles, are “zippy” to drive because of their quick acceleration. She also appreciates how zero-emission vehicles are helping California achieve its clean air and greenhouse gas reduction goals.

Scott is a member of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technical Advisory Committee apprising them of California’s cutting edge technology and experience in building electric vehicle charging stations and hydrogen refueling stations.

Related Posts


California Energy Commission

The California Energy Commission is the state's primary energy policy and planning agency created by the Legislature in 1974.
Powered by Blogger.